Summer Spaghetti and Smoke Alarms

I’m a teacher.  This means that I love things in order.  I love following rules and people who can follow the rules.  I think anything can be accomplished as long as you can read and understand simple directions.  I think I am learning that some things may take a little more skill than that…

After the rush of the holiday on Wednesday, I realized we had no food in our house for the rest of the week or weekend.  I took this as the perfect opportunity to peruse my pinterest board of things-I-probably-would-never-make, and decided that today is the day I would start.  Let the meal planning begin!

Thursday night’s choice: Summer Spaghetti from The Goddess of Scrumptiouness. This looked easy enough to me, a simple pasta dish, right?  I started off by marinating the chicken during Baby Cake’s nap time.  When it came time to actually make dinner, I thought I was an amazing wife and Mr. Cupcake would surely be impressed.  Wrong.  In case you didn’t know, Mr. C is a little nosey when it comes to my cooking.  We actually had to have a serious talk early on in our marriage, about him not coming in and making me nervous.  In this case, his nosiness was appreciated.

When a recipe says “cook on medium” and you have a gas stove…cook super low.  I bet you knew that already.  I, however, did not and was not fast enough with adding ingredients to the sauce, thus, there was smoke…a lot of it.  Mr. C sprang into action, fanning away and opening the kitchen door, which stopped our normal smoke alarm’s screaming.  Not a big deal, right? Wrong.  We actually have two smoke alarms.  The regular one and another that was installed by our security company.  We were told that this one was only supposed to detect heavy smoke.  Wrong again.  Not 2 minutes after I punched in our code, did the alarm company call to get my name and our “code word” (you know, to make sure that a bad guy wasn’t posing as me and starting fires in our kitchen).  Embarrassing!

Back at the summer spaghetti prep, things were looking better.  I remade the sauce and everything else turned out wonderfully.  At the last second, I decided to add in fresh spinach, since one thing I have taught the hubs is that every meal needs a vegetable (and that corn and potatoes do not count).  He wasn’t thrilled, but I think it added a little extra color.  Next time, I would add more chicken and spinach, but skip the parsley, as I feel that it’s purpose was to add color, and the spinach took care of that.  So, there you have it, my first summer-as-a-stay-at-home meal. Don’t worry, it was enjoyed with a nice glass of wine after that ordeal.  Let’s hope that none of our other meals involve our alarm company, or I’m going to need to stock up on some more bottles.

Image

After a smoke alarm snafu, it actually turned out quite tasty!

2 thoughts on “Summer Spaghetti and Smoke Alarms

Leave a Reply

