Happy Cupcakeiversary!

Today is our 3rd wedding anniversary, so, to commemorate this, I decided it was a great reason to try one of those crafts just sitting around in my “to create” pinterest folder.  Mr. C and I both enjoy the song, Home by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros and I thought the song lyric, “Home is Wherever I’m with You” would make a great sign for our entryway (remember that foyer that i’m trying to decorate?).

To give it more meaning, I am a local girl who hates change and married to an adventurer who has dreams to go to far away places and do big things.  We’ve had a multitude of discussions about this and I am usually scared or anxious by the end of it.  I thought this would be a nice peace offering that yes, I am willing to try out one of his adventures one of these days.  As long as we’re together as a family, I’ll be okay.  

So here you have my newest creation:

I started with this 12 x 12 blank piece of wood that was purchased at Michael’s (teacher discount!)

The back was already built for hanging, which was perfect for my first attempt at sign making.

The first thing I did was soak a steel wool pad in apple cider vinegar overnight.  I then rubbed it all over the sign and allowed it to dry (not pictured). The next day, I sanded some rough spots and began working on the lettering, which was a lot of trial and error.  At first, I was convinced I could type words and flip them backwards in Word or Powerpoint.  That’s not the case.  Once I found the right font and size, I copied and pasted it into Paint (that simple program that comes on almost all computers!)  This allowed me to flip the word so that it could print the mirror image.

Once I was happy with the lettering, I put the paper face down on the sign and went over it (LIGHTLY) with water.  You want to be careful not to soak the paper, or else it will just fall apart (yes, I learned this the hard way).  Once I could see the word, I then used a marker’s dull, rounded end to score each letter.  I did this multiple times to ensure the ink was transferring.

lettering transferred completely

Now, I did like the black, but the wood is actually darker than it looks here and the letters were more difficult to read.  Also, our printer is basically out of ink!  I think that next time, I’ll replace the ink and try on lighter wood, as to not have to do this next step:

Final

with white paint over the letters

I do like the white though, and it brightens up our entryway!  I plan to mix it in with some black and white family photos, which I hope will look classy.  There are some quirks from my hand painting , but what’s a homemade project without some quirkiness?

Happy 3 years, Mr. C!

One thought on “Happy Cupcakeiversary!

  1. Pingback: Terrible Transitions | mrs. cupcake's chronicles

Leave a Reply

