The “Su-shine” of my life

When BabyCakes was 6 months old, I swore that was the best age ever. Then he hit 9 months, and I was blown away by the huge personality that was making its presence known more and more. Now that he is almost 17 months, I can honestly say that this toddler stage is amazing. He is still my cuddly baby boy, but the pace at which he is learning language and motor skills blows me away.  Mr. Cupcake comes home each afternoon and is shocked to hear the new words and phrases that Baby C can say.  This past week alone, it was “tache you” (thank you), share?, and try? among others.  Needless to say, communication in our house is getting easier by the day.

Today, however, the best word that comes out of that little mouth is “su-shine”.  Maybe it’s the way that his voice quiets when he speaks it, maybe it’s the meaning behind it, or maybe it’s because we always have to use yellow chalk to draw the “su-shine” on our sidewalks. Whatever the reason, it’s my favorite and I will always cherish the way that he “sings along” to our song, You are my Su-shine, of course!   

Leave a Reply

